SDDS Announces 2018 Loan Forgiveness Program Winners


Second District Dental Society (SDDS) is proud to announce the 2018 Loan Forgiveness Program awardees are: Drs. Christen Carute, David Dayan, Elliot Haber, Angelica Iancu, Philip Kaplan, Jennifer Katz, Nataliya Knap, Jacqueline Pierre, Jesse Wright and Mitchell Zientz.


These 10 awardees, who are recipients of grants totaling $100,000, were selected from a pool of applicants who completed the submission process by the April 30 deadline. Applications were reviewed by the SDDS Loan Forgiveness Program Committee through its program consultants, International Scholarship and Tuition Services (ISTS).


This is the second year of the SDDS Loan Forgiveness Program, which was established in 2016 to assist newly-licensed Brooklyn and Staten Island dentists with their dental school loan debt. Newlylicensed dentists who have had their licenses for five years or less, are fully active members of the SDDS and have more than $50,000 in documented dental school loan debt are eligible to apply. The award is a one-time grant, and awardees may reapply in subsequent years and are eligible to receive up to three awards as long as they meet current program criteria. Grants are paid directly to the loan provider on the awardee’s behalf.